Entitlement

Last night my parents took Petek and I to see “Big Top Chautauqua” outside of Bayfield, Wisconsin.  The show was about the history of Minnesota, and featured a whole bunch of black and white pictures of daily Minnesotan life from the late 19th and early 20th century.  There were a few historical events that I was surprised to have never heard of, and the live music was great, but my strongest impression was of the roughness of life during that period.  In the expressions of the people in the photographs, I was reminded of my days in the countryside of China.  After living in China for a while, I realized that people expected much less from the government.  They knew that if they got sick or hurt, there would be no government safety net to take care of them.  They knew that they had to make plans (children) so they would have means to get by in old age.  Often, I felt as though people were just trying to get by.  I imagine Minnesotan pioneers would have had a similar attitude.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

